

For Immediate Release Contact: Michael Yaple
Date: December 26, 2019 (609) 376-9072

NJ Department of Education Names 2019 National ESEA Distinguished Schools

Trenton, NJ – The New Jersey Department of Education today announced the Morris Goodwin School of Greenwich Township in Cumberland County and the Pace Charter School of Hamilton, Mercer County, were named 2019 National Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA) Distinguished Schools.

The Morris Goodwin School received the recognition for exceptional student performance, and the Pace Charter School of Hamilton was recognized for closing the achievement gap between student groups for two or more consecutive years.

"These schools are examples of equity in action," said Education Commissioner Lamont O. Repollet. "We are proud of the work the teachers, administrators, families and, most importantly, the students have done to earn this recognition."

The 2019 ESEA Distinguished Schools Program is sponsored by the National Association of ESEA State Program Administrators. Each state in the association annually selects two schools to receive the award based on student progress and other ESEA indicators of school performance.

Each school will receive up to \$15,000 to support Title I programs, which are designed to assist schools with high percentages of children from low-income families. Each school will also be recognized along with other ESEA Distinguished Schools from across the nation at the National Association of ESEA State Program Administrators Conference in February in Atlanta, Ga., where the attending staff from each recognized school will have an opportunity to participate in workshops, professional development, and best-practices presentations.





